How we work

Leaseurope is an international non-profit association registered in Belgium and operates a Brussels-based Secretariat headed by a Director General. We work closely together with members through various internal structures to ensure a strong, sustainable and well-functioning leasing and automotive rental industry.

Leaseurope meeting room

Leaseurope is governed by a board of directors and a general assembly. The board of directors is assisted in its work by technical committees and steering groups covering various industry sectors. Members of these bodies are typically practitioners or industry representatives nominated by Leaseurope members. The council of secretaries general provides member association Directors with a platform to exchange best practices and discuss the activities and performance of the federation.

Board of directors

Secretary: Richard Knubben, Director General

The board of directors oversees the work of the federation and sets its strategic objectives. It is composed of twelve senior leasing and rental executives nominated to represent their national associations. The current board is composed as follows:

  • Mario Agostini - CEO, Unicredit Leasing
  • Tim Albertsen - Group CEO, ALD Automotive
  • Patrick Beselaere - CEO, ABFH management
  • José Coronel de Palma y Martínez-Agulló - President & Managing Director, Caterpillar Financial 
  • Coşkun Çabuk - CEO, Halk Leasing
  • Stefan Davidsson - Executive Vice President, DNB Finance Nordics
  • Carlo van Kemenade - CEO and Chairman of the Executive Board, De Lage Landen (DLL)
  • Hervé Leroux - Deputy CEO, Crédit Agricole Leasing and Factoribng (CALF)
  • Maximilian Meggle - CEO, MMV Group
  • Yves Petin - CEO, Fraikin Group
  • Khaled Shahbo - Senior VP Europe, Enterprise Rent-a-car
  • Alexander Schmidecker - CEO, Raiffeisen Leasing

The Chair of Leaseurope is C. van Kemenade, A. Schmidecker and K. Shabho are Vice-chairs.

General assembly

Secretary: Richard Knubben, Director General

All members of Leaseurope have a seat on the general assembly, to whom the board reports. This is the body that approves topics of importance to the functioning of the federation such as the annual budget, the composition of the board, etc.

Council of secretaries general

Secretary: Julie Debruyne, Senior Operations Manager

The council of secretaries general consists of all the full members' Secretaries or Directors General. The purpose of this council is to:

  • exchange views and best practices between members
  • discuss the performance and activities of the federation with the Director General
  • create a platform where members can communicate their expectations vis-à -vis the federation

Committees and groups

The various committees, steering groups, working groups and task forces of the federation are responsible for developing our work in their respective field of competence. This includes working on proposed legislation and standards/practices as well as carrying out analytical and quantitative work. Leaseurope has internal groups on the following topics: accounting and taxation, legal affairs, prudential supervision and capital markets, statistics, automotive, car leasing, car rental, truck rental, vehicle connectivity, artificial intelligence and real estate.